BILL BURCH

SCHOLARSHIP AND RECOGNITION BREAKFAST



Za-Ga-Zig Shrine Temple April 1, 2022

"Excellence Is Our Goal"

Southeast Polk High School

Program

Welcome and Recognition of Guests Steve Pettit
Breakfast
Introduction of Speaker Amy Daugherty
Address
Presentation of Recognition Awards
Lanny BrandCounselorAmy DaughertyCounselorKari FastCounselorMichelle FeldmannCounselorJessica NoltingCounselorValerie PowellCounselor
Presentation of the Bill Burch Humanitarian Award
Closing Remarks Steve Pettit

Featured Speaker

Nick Boyd 2000 Bill Burch Humanitarian Award Recipient



Nick Boyd was the Bill Burch Humanitarian Award recipient and graduated from SEP in 2000; he played basketball, baseball and was involved in other school and community activities. Nick was a two-time first team all-conference selection in basketball and was a member of the state 4th place basketball team where he was named to the alltournament team, received the 2000 Student-Athlete Achiever award at the state tournament and received all-state honors. Following graduation, Nick attended Simpson College where he studied mathematics and accounting and played on the men's basketball team. Nick, his wife Kristen and four daughters live in the country east of Altoona. Professionally speaking, Nick spent 11 years with Liberty Mutual in Des Moines. St. Louis and Milwaukee and has been with Nationwide since 2015. Nick is a member of the executive leadership team for Commercial and Agribusiness claims and leads the National Claims Operations organization at Nationwide. Nick enjoys spending time with his family, being outdoors, being active in their church and coaching his daughters' sports teams.



Seniors

Josephine Aldrich Aurora Gowin

Joana Aquino Patino Isaac Henry

Charles Bell Haden Horstman

Madison Bergman Madisen Jackson

Abbigale Clark Jenna Jauron

Spencer Clifton Louis Jones

Luke Crawford Margo Keller

Jaxon Dailey Sydney Kinney

Kali Dennis Jacob Kleywegt

Brooke Fischer Chloe Kottlowski

Kyler Foster Dana Larsen

Taylor Franzen Natalie Lewis

Mercedes Frisby Madison Lucas

Seniors

Sydney Matthaidess Bailey Savage

Elliana McMurry Anna Sharp

Sky Mottet Myah Shipley

Melina Murrane Kennedy Skinner

Kenzie Newton Luke Stewart

Eli Owens Tara Sullivan

Tanner Parrott Samantha Swacker

Emma Pingel Taylor Townsend

Laryssa Pritchard Grant Vorwerk

Raegan Pritchard Jackson Wahman

Olivia Raasch Jackson Ward

Charlee Roberts Brooke Woodyard

Juniors

Aubry Allen

Lindsay Baerenwald

Carrie Baier

Gabrialla Blaine

Addison Brunner

Maesi Caes

Jenavieve Christensen

Emma Cochran

Jhonpaul Espiritu

Emma Etnyre

Presley Ewing

Aspen Forristall

Stephanie Fritch

Zachary Funk

Harrison Gibson

Piper Goode

Carissa Gregory

Jordan Holloway

Maci Kincaid

Josie Newton

Melanie O'Farrill

Raelyn Parrott

Olivia Parsons

Eliza Patchin

Brooklyn Sartell

Alexus Schmidt

Hannah Schwemm

Kaden Townsend

Mackenzie Weems

Gwenyth Willeford

Sophomores

Allison Beck Kaeden Kain

Kaylee Carlson Seneca Molstre

Leah Childs Kelvin Nguyen

Breanna Dao Amanda Seeliger

Aidan Douglas Brooke Seeliger

Abbie Fitzpatrick Felicity Severs

Ivy Glendening Eva Solseth

Alexia Hanson Alyssa Werthmann

Gavin Holmes Addison Whipple

Bruce Johnson Payton Wicks

Bill Burch Humanitarian Award Winners

2021 – Patrick Tunks

2020 - Mariah Kacer

2019 - Paige Blackford

2018 – Luke Williams

2017 – Jackson Cole

2016 - Sydney Rosenboom

2015 – Jacey Huinker

2014 - Jessica Cole

2013 - Mackenzie West

2012 - Mackenzie Bills

2011 - Kelsey Duff

2010 - Jared Barkley

2009 - Christopher Jessen

2008 - Tyler Duff

2007 - Zach Ballard

2006 - Kirby Norris

2005 - Sadie Bartling

2004 - Kayla Boyd

2003 - Tony Ross

2002 - Chuck Howald

2001 - Andrew Reed

2000 - Nick Boyd

1999 - Meggan Juhl

1998 - Chad Johnson

1997 - Jeremy Peterson

1996 - Christopher Van Fosson

1995 - Heather Murken

1994 - Jacob Hamlin

1993 - Heather Keeling



BILL BURCH

SOUTHEAST POLK COUNSELOR 1974 - 1992

We have named this breakfast in Bill's honor and present a Humanitarian Award to a student selected by faculty who best exemplifies Bill's outstanding personal qualities of sincerity and compassion toward others. He will be remembered as a man who had time to relate to students and adults alike.

A Tradition of Excellence

The Annual Scholarship and Recognition Breakfast was first organized in 1985. The purpose of the event is to honor 100 of our high school students for outstanding scholastic achievement.

We have been fortunate have some of Iowa's foremost educators and leaders serve as speakers. They represent the Spirit of Renaissance and tradition of excellence associated with this event.

2021	Jessica Christensen2014 Bill Burch Award Winner
2020	Event not held due to COVID
2019	Heather Hanneman1995 Bill Burch Award Winner
2018	Chuck Howald
2017	Kayla Bond2004 Bill Burch Award Winner
2016	Mark PutnamPresident, Central College
2015	Lon MoellerAssociate Provost, University of Iowa
2014	Angela I. Walker Franklin President, Des Moines University
2013	John C. ReyndersPresident, Morningside College
2012	Raynard S. KingtonPresident, Grinnell College
2011	David Maxwell
2010	John W. Byrd President, Simpson College
2009	Gary SteinkePresident, IAICU
2008	Kent Henning President, Grand View University
2007	Dr. David Roe
2006	Dr. John K, Menzies President, Graceland University
2005	Mrs. Christie Vilsack First Lady of the State of Iowa
2004	Dr. Jack Ohle
2003	Dr. William JohnstonPresident, Iowa Wesleyan College
2002	Kim J. LinduskaDMACC Senior Vice President
2001	Kent HenningPresident, Grand View College
2000	R. Kevin LaGree President, Simpson College
1999	Dr. David Roe President, Central College
1998	Keith Fenton President, AlB College of Business
1997	Dr. Robert Koob President, University of Northern Iowa
1996	Dr. Fredrick V, Moore President, Buena Vista University
1995	Dr. Pamela FergusonPresident,Grinnell College
1994	No speaker due to inclement weather
1993	Dr. Joseph A, Borgen . President, Des Moines Area Community College
1992	Dr. William M. Wiebenga President, Central College
1991	Dr. Stephen Jennings President, Simpson College
1990	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
1989	•
1988	Dr. Gordon EatonPresident, Iowa State University
1987	Terry E. Branstad Governor, State of Iowa